Transparency

Salary

My regular income as a Member of Parliament in 2021 is €8,995.39 gross per month. I pay tax on this income as normal in Germany.

In addition, I receive a meeting allowance of €324.00 per day that I work in Parliament in Brussels. I receive this money to pay for the additional costs of accommodation and meals while in Brussels and Strasbourg. MEPs also have access to meeting allowances during Covid-19, but this money is drawn down to a much lesser extent because most MEPs were rarely in Brussels during the pandemic. I am sometimes offered honoraria for speeches, which I usually decline. If I accept them, I donate this extra income. In the first half of 2021, I wrote a book in my spare time, and without drawing on mine, drawing mainly on my experiences as a journalist and the images from my self-employed days. For this book I receive an honorarium from the publisher, which I have indicated on my MEP page on the homepage of the European Parliament. I donate about 20,000 euros a year to charitable causes and to my party.

Personnel costs

As an MEP, I have a monthly staff budget of €25,620.00 at my disposal in 2021. This budget is used to pay the salaries and social security contributions of my current seven employees, three of whom work in Brussels, three in Berlin and one in Magdeburg. Interns are also paid from this budget, as well as the business trips or further training of my staff. It is important to me that all my staff, including the interns, receive a fair wage, so that the personnel budget is used in full. The staff budget is not managed by MEPs themselves, but by the European Parliament.

Funds for public relations

All Members of Parliament are additionally entitled to a budget for political public relations. In the past year 2020, this budget totalled EUR 48,500.00. In order to draw on these funds, each individual application must be checked for conformity with the guidelines and approved individually by the parliamentary group. I can use the approved funds for events or print products such as information brochures, for example.

General expenditure allowance

In order to be able to pay office costs and other general expenses, I will receive €4,577.00 per month in 2021, like all Members, in an account set up specifically for this purpose. I use these funds, for example, for my office rent in Berlin and Magdeburg, telephone costs for my team, hardware and software for my team, postage costs, office supplies and similar costs of this kind.

In recent years, our Green Group has repeatedly pointed out that the use of the general cost allowance is not transparent enough. However, since so far all motions to revise the rules have been rejected or have not yet been implemented, the Greens/EFA have made a voluntary commitment on 1 July 2017 to create more transparency: we want to ensure that MEPs' handling of the money from the general expenses allowance becomes more comprehensible. 

You can download the commitment click here (in english).

Overview of the General Cost Allowance 2020

(general expenditure allowance, GEA for short)

Last year, my team and I used funds amounting to EUR 55,418.54 for this purpose. This overview shows what we used these funds for.
NoteThe exact amounts may still change slightly for 2020.

Overview of the General Cost Allowance 2019

(general expenditure allowance, GEA for short)

The budget for 2019 was €31,578.87 and is the result of payments from the beginning of the legislature mid-year through Dec 2019.

Transparenz

Gehalt

Mein reguläres Einkommen als Abgeordneter beträgt im Jahr 2021 im Monat 8.995,39 € brutto. Dieses Einkommen versteuere ich ganz normal in Deutschland.

Dazu kommen Sitzungsgelder in Höhe von 324,00 € pro Tag, an dem ich im Parlament in Brüssel arbeite. Ich bekomme dieses Geld, um die zusätzlichen Kosten für Unterkunft und Verpflegung während des Aufenthalts in Brüssel und Straßburg zu bezahlen. Auch in Zeiten von Covid-19 haben die Abgeordneten Zugriff auf die Sitzungsgelder, allerdings werden diese Gelder in deutlich geringerem Umfang abgerufen, weil die meisten MdEPs in der Pandemie selten in Brüssel waren. Manchmal werden mir Honorare für Vorträge angeboten, die ich in der Regel ablehne. Falls ich sie annehme, spende ich diese Nebeneinkünfte. Im ersten Halbjahr 2021 habe ich in meiner Freizeit und ohne auf meinen ein Buch geschrieben, das vor allem auf meine Erfahrungen als Journalist und die Bilder aus meiner selbständigen Zeit zurückgreift. Für dieses Buch erhalte ich ein Honorar vom Verlag, das ich auf meiner Abgeordnetenseite auf der Homepage des Europaparlaments angegeben habe. Ich spende im Jahr ca. 20.000 Euro an gemeinnützige Zwecke und meine Partei.

Personalkosten

Als Europaabgeordneter steht mir im Jahr 2021  ein monatliches Personalbudget von 25.620,00 € zur Verfügung. Davon werden die Gehälter und Sozialabgaben meiner derzeit sieben Mitarbeiter*innen bezahlt, von denen drei in Brüssel, drei in Berlin und eine in Magdeburg arbeiten. Auch Praktikant*innen werden aus diesem Budget bezahlt, außerdem die Dienstreisen oder Fortbildungen meiner Mitarbeiter*innen. Mir ist wichtig, dass alle meine Mitarbeiter*innen inklusive der Praktikant*innen einen fairen Lohn bekommen, sodass der Personaletat vollständig eingesetzt wird. Das Personalbudget wird nicht von den Europaabgeordneten selbst, sondern vom Europäischen Parlament verwaltet.

Gelder für Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Allen Abgeordneten steht zusätzlich ein Etat für politische Öffentlichkeitsarbeit zu. Im abgelaufenen Jahr 2020 betrug dieses Budget insgesamt 48.500,00 EUR. Um diese Gelder abzurufen, muss jeder einzelne Antrag auf Konformität mit den Richtlinien überprüft und einzeln von der Fraktion bewilligt werden. Die bewilligten Gelder kann ich beispielsweise für Veranstaltungen oder Printprodukte wie Infobroschüren einsetzen.

Allgemeine Kostenvergütung

Um Bürokosten und andere allgemeine Ausgaben bezahlen zu können, erhalte ich im Jahr 2021 wie alle Abgeordneten monatlich 4.577,00 € auf ein extra zu diesem Zweck eingerichtetes Konto. Diese Mittel verwende ich beispielsweise für meine Büromieten in Berlin und Magdeburg, Telefonkosten meines Teams, Hardware und Software für mein Team, Portokosten, Büromaterialien und ähnliche Kosten dieser Art.

In den letzten Jahren hat unsere Grüne Fraktion immer wieder darauf hingewiesen, dass die Verwendung der allgemeinen Kostenvergütung nicht transparent genug ist. Da bislang allerdings alle Anträge zur Überarbeitung der Regelungen abgelehnt oder noch nicht umgesetzt wurden, haben die Grünen/EFA sich zum 1. Juli 2017 eine Selbstverpflichtung auferlegt, die mehr Transparenz schafft: Wir wollen dafür sorgen, dass der Umgang von Abgeordneten mit den Geldern aus der allgemeinen Kostenvergütung nachvollziehbarer wird. 

Die Selbstverpflichtung könnt ihr hier (auf englisch) abrufen.

Übersicht über die Allgemeine Kostenvergütung 2020

(general expenditure allowance, kurz GEA)

Im letzten Jahr haben mein Team und ich dafür Mittel in Höhe von 55.418,54 EUR verwendet. Diese Übersicht gibt an, wofür wir diese Mittel verwendet haben.
Hinweis: Die exakten Beträge können sich für 2020 ggf. noch geringfügig ändern.

Übersicht über die Allgemeine Kostenvergütung 2019

(general expenditure allowance, kurz GEA)

Das Budget für 2019 betrug 31.578,87 € und ergibt sich aus den Zahlungen von Beginn der Legislatur Mitte des Jahres bis Dez 2019.